Inauguration Of Hon Assembly Members


The meeting started at exactly 2: 20 p.m. with an opening prayer said by Reverend Frederick Asaine.



The Hon Western North Regional Minister and his entourage, Nananom, Honorable Assembly Members, the various Security Agencies, representatives from various Institutions, Heads of Departments and Units and all other Invited Guests were duly introduced by Mr. Okyere Sampson.



Hon DCE started his address by welcoming all dignitaries and invited guests for being able to honor the invitation for the inauguration of the newly elected and appointed assembly members. He further indicated that being referred to as an assembly member summarily means you are an agent for development in the locality and then it is expected all assembly members are to put out their best performance whenever duty calls.

He ended by acknowledging all dignitaries and invited guests present once again before resuming his seat.



The Hon. Regional Minister started his speech by acknowledging the existing protocols and extended warm regards from the President of Ghana, Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo Addo to the people of Suaman District and that the president had instructed him to deliver a speech on his behalf themed, GOVERNMENT NOW CLOSER TO THE PEOPLE THAN EVER”.

He said the decentralization reforms that started in 1988 with only 110 District Assemblies had made progress in several fronts. He noted that as the membership of the Assembly was being constituted, it was envisaged that new ideas and opportunities would emerge to deepen the deliberative, legislative and executive functions of the district assembly.

He indicated that the assembly members had the mandate to deliberate, plan, mobilize resources and make decisions including by-laws to ensure the transformation of their district towards Ghana.

He urged the members to also establish strong partnerships and collaborate with the local structures particularly, the urban, town, zonal an area council, the unit committees and traditional authorities as well as other identifiable groups to facilitate the work of the assembly. It is through these partnerships and collaborations that the ideals of local governance are optimized for the benefit of the people.

He said the assembly was being inaugurated at a time when efforts were being made by government through the Ministry of Local Government, Decentralization and Rural Development (MLGRD) to improve on the mobilization on internally Generated Funds (IGFs) of the Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies.

He called on the members to work closely with each other to create innovative ways of mobilizing the needed resources for the development within their areas.

He further reminded the members that the electorate required of them, selflessness, devotion to duty, a very accountable stewardship and ability to articulate the needs of the people to guide district development agenda and improve the quality of their livelihoods and wellbeing.

He ended by saying that the role of the members required that the commit their all to the growth and development of the citizenry.



The Hon Regional Minister after his speech went on to swear in the elected and appointed assembly members. The 19 members made up of 13 elected and 6 appointees were sworn in by Mr. Joojo Rocky Obeng, the Western North Regional Minister with the oaths of office, allegiance and secrecy.





The district electoral commissioner was then invited to commence the election for the assembly’s presiding member. He indicated that there are 13 elected and 6 appointed assembly members together with the district chief executive totaling 20 electorates who shall cast their votes.

He further spelt out the rules governing the election to the august house.

1.      There are a total of 20 votes including the district chief executive.

2.      The voting is strictly secret ballot.

3.      The candidate contesting for the position of presiding member has the right to vote.

4.      The winner should obtain not less than 2/3 of the total vote cast

5.      If no candidate obtains 2/3 of the total vote cast, there shall be another election held for the best 2 emerging candidates

6.      If the two highest are voted for again and does not win, there will be a run off after 10 days with different candidates.

7.      Fraction and decimal shall be round up to 1 vote.



After spelling out the rules governing the election, the electoral commissioner opened nominations to the house that any candidate interested in the position should pick their forms for nomination.

After waiting for a period of time, the Electoral commissioner declared Hon. Stephenson Tandoh as the only nominee who filed for the position of the presiding member.



The election was held successfully with all Hon assembly members casting their votes.

After compiling and sorting, the electoral commissioner declared that all the 20 Hon Assembly Members voted unanimously for Hon Stephenson Tandoh making him the emerge as the winner of the election.



 The District Chief Executive led the elected presiding member to be sworn in as the new presiding member of the Suaman District Assembly.



 Hon Stephenson Tandoh expressed his gratitude for being given the honor to serve the Suaman district assembly once again. He further thanked his fellow Hon Assembly Members for trusting him of the enviable position. He further indicated that if they can easily achieve the aims and visions as Hon Assembly Members, then they have to work together and cordially. He ended by assuring management and Hon Assembly Members that he will be his utmost best for the development of the assembly.



DCE in his closing remarks indicated that he was overwhelmed by the huge attendance to the event even though there was a delay in the invitation of the various stakeholders, however, they surprisingly attended in their numbers and fully participated in the course of the event. He admonished all assembly members to be much centered on helping carry out development projects in their electoral areas.


He further thanked all assembly members for voting unanimously for the presiding member and urged the presiding member to work assiduously towards developing the district assembly.



 In the absence of further deliberations, the Hon Eric Armah called for the adjournment of the meeting and was seconded by Hon Luckson Afoakwah.



 The meeting came to a close at 5:20 p.m. with closing prayer being said by Hon Azamatsi.




Scenes from the program